Professional Artist Interview: Kevin Munday

 

HELLO Kevin! TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR PRACTICE AND DAILY ROUTINE (STUDIO TIME VS BEING ONLINE/NETWORKING).

Every day is different, but most of them involve some creating, some networking, some replying to enquiries and some planning. I try to spend about 75% of my working time creating and 25% on the business side of things.

HOW DID YOU BECOME A PROFESSIONAL, WORKING ARTIST? WAS IT ALWAYS YOUR DREAM JOB?

For the best part of a decade it’s been my dream to be able to create for a living and for the last 3 years, 3 months & 2 weeks I’ve been able to do it. After University I was working 4 days a week in a supermarket to supplement my income, which I then got down to 3 days, 2 days and eventually zero days.

NOW LET’S TALK BUSINESS. HOW DO YOU GET CLIENTS TO BUY YOUR WORK/FREELANCE WORK?7

I sell my artwork as limited edition prints, as originals on canvas and also paint murals. My art prints are quite affordable as signed limited edition art goes, varying between £20 – £30 each. I think it’s good to sell more affordable works to build interest in your art, often I get customers who have bought smaller pieces buying bigger stuff years later. Original artwork I sell online too and also in exhibitions. Often I find people will see the work in exhibitions and then place orders online, but it does help the sale if they’ve seen the work in person first. Murals I mostly get through word of mouth or through people seeing previous photos online.

WHAT IS YOUR PREFERRED SOCIAL MEDIA OUTLET TO USE AND WHY?

I try to use all of them (facebook, twitter, instagram, flickr, tumblr etc) but don’t really know how much of a difference using them makes to be honest. I have thousands of fans on facebook and post new works on there regularly but rarely find this leads to much other than ‘likes’. Tumblr is my favourite for archiving works and I use it as my blog.

WHAT (IF ANY) SITES DO YOU USE TO SELL YOUR ART/CRAFTS/DESIGNS? (ETSY, SOCIETY 6, SAATCHI, ETC.)

Again, I try to use all of them. My own online shop plus Artfinder, Etsy, eBay, Saatchi Online, Bouf, Shoply, Folksy and a few online galleries that I dropship print orders through.

WHAT IS THE NUMBER ONE TIP YOU CAN GIVE ARTISTS WHO ARE JUST STARTING OUT OR WISH TO MAKE A CAREER OUT OF THEIR ARTWORK?

Show your work to as many people as you possibly can, both on and offline. Keep a mailing list of everyone who shows an interest or buys work and email them regularly with new pieces and exhibition details. Keep another list of people who have bought bigger pieces and communicate with them individually when you’ve got new works that you think might interest them.

FINALLY, WHERE CAN WE FIND YOUR WORK? (SELF PROMOTION NEVER HURT ANYONE!)

http://www.KevMunday.com I’m also currently booking a solo exhibition for 2014 which I’m aiming to tour across the country – so far it’s in 5 different galleries in 5 different months and the details can be found on my website.

100_8804 Print desires DSC_0015

Leave a Reply

