Professional Artist Interview with Susie Olczak

HELLO Susie! TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR PRACTICE AND DAILY ROUTINE (STUDIO TIME VS BEING ONLINE/NETWORKING).

My daily routine can vary quite a lot. Sometimes I am in the studio all day making work, I like to be as hands on as possible with my work and am often found welding or carving stone. Often in the studio I will draw or experiment with materials and I will spend time designing pieces. Other days I spend time at home doing online work, keeping up to date with online publicity or applying for new opportunities. The rest of the time I am out and about on my bike, meeting people about projects and working out the logistics for the install of work or going to galleries for inspiration.

HOW DID YOU BECOME A PROFESSIONAL, WORKING ARTIST? WAS IT ALWAYS YOUR DREAM JOB?

I have wanted to be an artist for a long time. When I was 18 I attended the Glasgow School of Art to study sculpture and since then I have been making work from my studio based in Cambridge.  What is great about being an artist is that you can make your own career and every day can be different and can challenge you in new ways.

NOW LET’S TALK BUSINESS. HOW DO YOU GET CLIENTS TO BUY YOUR WORK/FREELANCE WORK?

I do a lot of networking online and in person.  I think the best way seems to be to use social media to your advantage and to really get known that way initially and then to start meeting as many people as possible, finding out what they do and talking about your work.  It seems that one opportunity leads to another a lot of the time and a lot of my projects have come about through word of mouth or social media.

WHAT IS YOUR PREFERRED SOCIAL MEDIA OUTLET TO USE AND WHY?

It is really hard to choose as I use different social media outlets for different purposes. I have my website which I designed using wordpress so that I can have creative control over it. Then I use my blog for works in progress and Facebook for keeping people updated informally, I think twitter is great for letting people know about your day to day news and I really love pintrest for recording my research and inspiration.

WHAT (IF ANY) SITES DO YOU USE TO SELL YOUR ART/CRAFTS/DESIGNS? (ETSY, SOCIETY 6, SAATCHI, ETC.)

I use Art Pistol, Saatchi online and Artspert.

WHAT IS THE NUMBER ONE TIP YOU CAN GIVE ARTISTS WHO ARE JUST STARTING OUT OR WISH TO MAKE A CAREER OUT OF THEIR ARTWORK?

To keep going and to enjoy what you are doing. I think at the start it is all about perseverance and drive. If you enjoy making your work then people will begin to notice what you are doing and one opportunity will lead to another.

FINALLY, WHERE CAN WE FIND YOUR WORK? (SELF PROMOTION NEVER HURT ANYONE!)

Thank You!

 

One response to “Professional Artist Interview with Susie Olczak

Leave a Reply

