Professional Artist Interview: Jamila Walker

HELLO Jamila! TELL US A BIT ABOUT YOUR PRACTICE AND DAILY ROUTINE (STUDIO TIME VS BEING ONLINE/NETWORKING).

I’m a Fine Art Photographer & Illustrator, I also work on Community Art projects, inc Arts for Health. I am one third of Craft Collective Hey Doll! I work freelance, so every day is different, some days I prep for workshops, research new projects, make new work, send proposals,  edit photographs, use Twitter and Facebook, etc or a combination of all of the above.

 

HOW DID YOU BECOME A PROFESSIONAL, WORKING ARTIST? WAS IT ALWAYS YOUR DREAM JOB?

-I always planned to be a Artist, I knew I wanted to make my living being creative. I did some admin jobs to pay bills, after university, but after an excellent internships for council museum and art service, where I got to curate a costume exhibition, I decided to be brave and seriously pursue a career as a freelance Artist, I wanted my work, showcased, I wanted to tell my visual stories.

 

NOW LET’S TALK BUSINESS. HOW DO YOU GET CLIENTS TO BUY YOUR WORK/FREELANCE WORK?7

-I work to private commissions and I sell some pieces in local galleries. However I mainly make a living from running workshops, being a casual support worker for a charity for children with disabities and some casual work at a local Museum.

 

WHAT IS YOUR PREFERRED SOCIAL MEDIA OUTLET TO USE AND WHY?

WHAT (IF ANY) SITES DO YOU USE TO SELL YOUR ART/CRAFTS/DESIGNS? (ETSY, SOCIETY 6, SAATCHI, ETC.)

-I’ve finally seen the fun, full potential, immediacy and networking opportunities that is Twitter.

 

WHAT IS THE NUMBER ONE TIP YOU CAN GIVE ARTISTS WHO ARE JUST STARTING OUT OR WISH TO MAKE A CAREER OUT OF THEIR ARTWORK?

– Take breaks, try and have at least one afternoon off a week, you will be more productive when you general well being is taken care of.

 

FINALLY, WHERE CAN WE FIND YOUR WORK? (SELF PROMOTION NEVER HURT ANYONE!)

www.jamilawalker.webeden.co.uk (Twitter @Jamila_Artist)

Shropshire Visual Art Network – Shrewsbury (Twitter – ShropshireVAN)

www.heydoll.co.uk (Twitter @HeyDollCraft)

Barbie Sleeping beauty - Jamila Walker Butterfly - Jamila Walker Butterfly Jar - Jamila Walker Chair  - Jamila Walker Charlotte - Jamila Walker FINAL Pram - Illustration - Jamila Walker

THANK YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

